PARTY FOOD

We just threw a big New Year’s Eve party, with a big buffet of food.  My husband baked a ham and a ziti casserole and I made FLORENTINE WHITE BEAN SOUP.   I wanted to add some fun vegetable and grain salads that would balance the main dishes.  But I also wanted them to be able to sit out and retain their texture and flavor, and I wanted to be able to make them in the morning to make party prep easier.  Both of the following salads served well:  FARRO & ROASTED BUTTERNUT SQUASH and ORZO & BROCCOLI SALAD.  Technically, the latter would probably be better as a spring dish, but I had requests for both recipes so here they are.

I also made a new favorite to add to the appetizers guests brought, EDAMAME HUMMUS.  I made this the night before, so easy, and refrigerated until party time.  It was beautiful surrounded by colorful cut up bell peppers, celery, carrots and radishes.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

